Skip to content

hometown review

October 16, 2013

MTbookfestI just got back from last weekend’s Montana Festival of the Book, an event I’ve long attended as a spectator but never had a chance to actually participate in til now. Fun.

And what did I find waiting for me but this very kind review in the Missoula Independent by poet Chris Dombrowski, which review launches thusly:

So dog-eared are the pages of my copy of Opportunity, Montana that from across the desk the book appears waterlogged. Simply put, there’s just that much to like in Brad Tyer’s debut—that much to ingest, puzzle over, learn from, return to.

It’s a hell of a start, and despite learning of a few minor errors I’d made, the rest of the review is similarly generous. And much appreciated. You can READ THE WHOLE THING HERE.

My role in the Festival of the Book comprised a reading and panel on nonfiction writing with fellow writers Jo Deurbrouck (Anything Worth Doing), Todd Wilkinson (Last Stand: Ted Turner’s Quest to Save a Troubled Planet) and Gayle Morrison (Hog’s Exit). The Missoulian newspaper covered that panel with quotes from me and my smarter co-panelists.

Next up, the Texas Book Festival in Austin, Oct. 26-27. Hope to see some of y’all there.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2014 10:05 am

    I loved your book.

    • bradtyer permalink*
      June 9, 2014 6:05 pm

      Thanks Red Boat Mark. That’s very much appreciated. If perchance you’re so inclined, please do feel free to share that opinion as a review on the book’s Amazon page. That really does seem to help get the word out, which of course I’m eager to do. Regardless, really appreciate the comment.

      • June 9, 2014 7:37 pm

        I will. I also posted a review on my fly fishing blog a few days ago: redboatmarkchronicles.blogspot.com. I have been working on various aspects of the Clark Fork Restoration Project for the past couple of years. Some of the folks you interviewed in the book have been my bosses. I’ve been spreading the word of your book through that crowd as well as throughout the academic crowd at UM. I really did love how you chronicled the whole deal and the case you made for Opportunity. Your relationship with your dad really hit home for me as well. Link to my review: http://redboatmarkchronicles.blogspot.com/2014/06/opportunity-montana-big-copper-bad.html – I’ve been working on some Milltown stuff at work and went down to the floodplain today. I took a bunch of pictures of how the vetgetation is coming along and will post on that tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

